Astra Space Website: Security Issue!

Tex

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Retired Staff
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,586
Reaction score
140
Points
138
Location
Houston
Website
youtube.com
Greetings,

I noticed many people with the "Astra Space" website banner/link in their signatures here on this forum. I have no problem with that, however I visited the site and when I clicked on 'Pilot Statistics' I was redirected to a page which caused my virus software to pop up alerting me it blocked a trojan virus!

Who ever is running that site needs to look into this issue. It looks like it maybe a bad link as it redirected me to an entirely different URL. See screen shots below:

astra_space1.jpg


astra_space2.jpg
 
It looks like one of those evil popunder ads is causing the problem.

Slightly off-topic: I never knew people still used IE6.
 
I only use IE6 when working on the site, I use Firefox when browsing/posting, etc.

IE7 just plain sucks... I hate how they changed things up.
 
Probably a false alarm, but there should be a few broken links on the website. The website is still under construction and the webhost sends you off somewhere else if you click one of these broken links. My virus scanner (AVG) hasn't said anything yet. I did notice another link being brought up. (spam ads) I highly doubt it, but if there is a virus, it's the fault of the webhost, not Astra Space. We will however see if we can get this somewhat resolved. (ex: Just remove broken links) Thanks for bringing this issue up, Tex! ;)
EDIT: Looks like the links brought up could be malicious, but I'm not certain. I really don't know why this is popping up from the webhost's site or if they even know it's there. I've contacted the host regarding this.
 
Last edited:
I will take a look into the issue tonight. In the meantime, feel free to simply not visit the page in question. I am confident there is no malware related to the 404 page and that it is most likely a false alarm. Again, however, I will take a look into the issue. My security software also did not pick up any issues. I will talk to the hosting; I am also in the process of creating HTTP error pages with .htaccess files to avoid those pages overall.

Can anyone else report the issue Tex saw?

Allow me to reassure the Orbiter community that the Astra Space website is safe and I will be working to resolve this anomoly ASAP. :)

EDIT: Nick, keep me posted on what the hosting has to say about it. I'll be working on those 404 pages tonight...
 
Good deal guys, I just had a good scare there and wasn't quite sure who was running the site when I posted this thread. I can also confirm the actual Astra Space site is safe, it's just the redirect that causes the problem. Sorry if the thread was a bit misleading as I was only trying to get the attention of the administrator.

@ Nick: It's doubtful AVG would pick that up, however BitDefender is the number 1 rated virus software in consumer reports I read so this is why I use it and it indeed came in handy. It monitors my system including any attempts to access or change the registry.

:speakcool:
 
Well, it worked. :D

I don't suppose we can do something to this thread in order to lessen the chance of people seeing it and thinking my website is malware infested or whatnot, can we? :)
 
Well, it worked. :D

I don't suppose we can do something to this thread in order to lessen the chance of people seeing it and thinking my website is malware infested or whatnot, can we? :)
What worked? :huh:
 
What worked? :huh:

Tex's attempt to get my attention. :)

Any word from the host? If so, shoot me an email.

EDIT: The HTTP error pages have been created an uploaded. No more seeing that nasty hosting error page. :)

Again, thanks to Tex for pointing out the issue. :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top